Steps Needed To Become A Lawyer

Lawyers are individuals who practice law. They are licensed and are able to represent their clients in courts. These clients can be individuals, companies and even governments. They represent them in legal disputes that these parties are involved in. There are various steps that these individuals pass through to become lawyers which include:

1. Obtaining An Undergraduate Degree
This is usually the first step to becoming a lawyer. Law schools require undergraduate degrees for admission. Graduates from universities who aspire to become lawyers need to keep their GPAs above 3.0.

There is no specific degree that lawyers must earn from universities. One may study economics, computer science, history or even political science while in university. One can participate in mock trials to help him or her prepare for law school.

2. The Law School Admission Test (LSAT)
This is the test that guarantees once admission into law school. It is a standardized exam that all applicants are required to take. It is a requirement for any law school that has the approval of the American Bar Association (ABA).

3. Law School Attendance
This is the third step towards becoming a lawyer. It ensures that one is able to get the knowledge required to pass and get a law degree. This degree is usually referred to as the Juris Doctor degree. It is accredited by the American Bar Association.

The LSAT is a major determinant to one’s admission to law school. One’s GPA scores and application essays also play a role in admission. It takes about three years for the completion of law school once admitted.

4. Multistate Professional Responsibility Examination (MPRE)
Before one sits for the bar exam, it is a requirement to take the MPRE. This is a written exam that involves multiple choices. It tests on the ethics of aspiring lawyers.

5. Bar Exam
This is the final step towards becoming a lawyer. This exam involves both essay and multiple choice questions. The Uniform Bar Examination has been adopted by some states as a standard exam. However, other states prefer setting their own exams.

This exam evaluates how well one understands state law. It also tests on the application of state law in various scenarios. Once one has passed this exam, he or she is regarded as a lawyer. These exams may be retaken in case one is not successful.

The five steps above have to be passed for one to become a lawyer. One can then join private or public practice. With the various law specialities, one can choose in the area of law he or she would like to major.